What’s On

Tell Me on a Sunday

Friday 6 May 2016

Following her acclaimed performance in the Watermill’s 2014 production of Calamity Jane, Jodie Prenger now steps into Andrew Lloyd Webber and Don Black’s classic musical, Tell Me on a Sunday.

Barry Cryer Twitter Titters

Saturday 7 May

In yet another farewell tour, Baz returns having been charged with persistent joking and asks for 20 other shows to be taken into consideration.

Legally Blonde The Musical

Tuesday 10 - Saturday 14 May

A fabulously fun, international award-winning musical based on the adored movie.

Rent

Wednesday 11 - Saturday 14 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

The Fureys

Thursday 26 May

Legends of Irish music and song The Fureys return for the third time to Theatre Royal Wakefield.

Twelve Dancing Princesses

Tuesday 17 & Wednesday 18 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

Beauty Lies Within

Wednesday 18 - Friday 20 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

Takin' Over the Asylum

Friday 20 & Saturday 21 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

Lord of the Flies

Tuesday 24 & Wednesday 25 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

Hubalaboo!

Wednesday 25 May

Come and join Wakefield Music Education Hub for a fantastic evening of musical performances by talented young people from across the district.

Abigail's Party

Friday 27 & Saturday 28 May

Let Wakefield College take you on a wild and thrilling journey with their Summer Season, packed as full as your holiday suitcase!

Full Circle

Sunday 29 May

Dee and Millie haven’t spoken civilly since 1989 and no one knows why. That’s how it would have stayed until fate took a hand when their children met and married.

Dracula

Monday 30 May

This exciting new version of Stoker’s classic novel, a primal myth that is rich, complex, frightening and exciting, is a deftly woven tapestry of contrasts.

Two

Tuesday 31 May

Still astonishingly real today, award-winning playwright Jim Cartwright’s Two is a microcosm of working class life in a Northern local.

Abigail's Party

Wednesday 1 June

Beverly Moss invites her new neighbours Angela and Tony over for drinks. She has also invited her neighbour Susan, divorced for three years, whose fifteen-year-old daughter Abigail is holding a party at home.

Holiday Snap

Thursday 2 June

In this comic tale of mistaken identity, a Portuguese time share villa has been double booked without the company representative , myopic tippler Commander ‘Chitto’ Chittenden knowing.

Blood Brothers

Friday 3 June

The original Willy Russell play that went on to become the hugely popular musical of the same name, Blood Brothers is fast moving and perceptive, entertaining and thought provoking, funny and yet ultimately tragic.

Trojan Women

Saturday 4 June

Trojan Women recounts the suffering created by the Trojan Wars, with this modern adaptation bringing the story into the 21st century.

Mad About the Musicals

Wednesday 8 June

Taking you on a whistle stop tour from the heart of London’s theatreland to the glitz of Broadway, Mad About the Musicals celebrates the very best songs from the shows we all know and love!

Black Dyke Band

Thursday 9 June

The Black Dyke Band is the most recorded band in the world with over 350 tracks and growing every year. With over 150 years of rich musical history it is extremely proud of its heritage.

An Adult Evening with Billy Pearce

Friday 10 June

Hardened by the tough training grounds of the northern club circuit, Yorkshireman Billy Pearce has become one of Britain’s most talented and best loved comedians.

Raz

Monday 13 & Tuesday 14 June

Friday night, first thing, the tanning shop, a good nine-minute blaster!

Showtime

Sunday 19 June

Crigglestone School of Dance present Showtime, a dance recital featuring a combination of dance, drama and song.

Rhythm of the Dance

Tuesday 21 June

This incredible live show celebrates the rich history of Ireland and the art of Irish dance, from the disciplined Celtic Step to the sensual, ancient Sean Nos dance style.

Kidz in the Spotlight

Saturday 25 - Sunday 26 June

In celebration of their ten year anniversary, Ali Greenwood Dancentre proudly presents their first show at Theatre Royal Wakefield.

Sing! Dance! Act! - Fairytales & Fables

Friday 1 & Saturday 2 July

A chance to see some of the most talented young performers in West Yorkshire as Theatre Royal Wakefield’s Performance Academy hits the stage for their annual showcase.

Bat Boy The Musical

Wednesday 6 - Saturday 9 July

Off-Broadway smash hit musical comedy-horror show Bat Boy The Musical comes to Theatre Royal Wakefield.

Dance Dynamics

Monday 11 & Tuesday 12 July

G-Force Dance Academy’s cast of talented dancers aged 5 to 18 are proud to present their summer show 2016.

Bringing on Back the 60s

Wednesday 13 July

Europe’s leading 60s revivalists The New Amen Corner perform the million-selling hits that made the 1960s the most prolific decade in musical history.

The Laramie Project

Friday 15 & Saturday 16 July

“...let’s show the world that Laramie is not this kind of town. If it wasn’t this kind of town, then why did this happen here?”

Part I - The Fall & Rise

Thursday 11 - Saturday 20 August

In this striking new production by Theatre Royal Wakefield, The Wakefield Mysteries – a series of plays written by the city’s guilds in the middle ages to tell the story of the bible – are given a 21st century kick.

Part II - The Price of Love

Thursday 11 - Saturday 20 August

In this striking new production by Theatre Royal Wakefield, The Wakefield Mysteries – a series of plays written by the city’s guilds in the middle ages to tell the story of the bible – are given a 21st century kick.

Jesus Christ Superstar

Wednesday 31 August 2016 - Saturday 10 September 2016

Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's smash hit west end show bursts onto the Wakefield stage!

The Mousetrap

Monday 3 October - Saturday 8 October

The legendary, record-breaking, box office smash hit thriller - Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap. A classic. A landmark. A legend.

Peppa Pig's Surprise

Wednesday 26 & Thursday 27 October

Surprise! Peppa Pig, George and their friends come to Wakefield with a brand new live stage show!

Sleeping Beauty

Thursday 24 November - Saturday 31 December 2016

Wakefield’s very own panto returns for another year, with the team behind Dick Whittington and Beauty and the Beast bringing some festive magic to that timeless tale of the power of true love’s kiss – Sleeping Beauty.